New Dream Theater Album Estimated Summer 2013 Release

Dream Theater

Read Time 2 Minutes

Dream Theater in the Studio

Dream Theater
Dream Theater

Music visionaries Dream Theater have been cranking away at yet another compilation of sonic sensation. Ever since the re-signing of their contract with Roadrunner Records back in December (about when they’d also finished the last of their tour for A Dramatic Turn of Events), Dream Theater has been hard at work on a new album. In fact this new album is expected to hit the shelves come summertime 2013. At least we don’t have to wait too long.

The band has been in the studio for a few weeks now, and will be new drummer Mike Mangini’s second album. I don’t think anyone’s made it a secret that a lot of attention is still on him to see what he can bring to the table. While it’s his second album with the band, the group was still shopping for a drummer while writing the album, so his contributions then won’t compare to being with the group from square one.

But for what it’s worth what the band’s been saying about the experience has been very positive. On A Dramatic Turn of Events, Mangini had to work with pre-programmed drums to guide what he was supposed to do. Now it’s all up to him, and per John Petrucci the chemistry within the band has been phenomenal.

Other Dream Theater Updates

Fortunately while the yet unnamed album isn’t expected until probably around August, Dream Theater does have a live DVD/Blu-ray set to come out in May. Live at Luna Park will feature a performance filmed on August 19 and 20, 2012 in Estadio Luna Park, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Evidently that’s location to one of the band’s most fervent fan bases, so they get the red carpet treatment. If you just want the music then fear not. The concert will be released as a 3 CD set as well. This will be their seventh live album.

The track listing for Live at Luna Park:

1. “Bridges in the Sky”
2. “6:00”
3. “These Walls”
4. “The Dark Eternal Night”
5. “Build Me Up, Break Me Down”
6. “This is the Life”
7. “The Root of All Evil”
8. “Caught in a Web”
9. “Lost Not Forgotten”
10. Mike Mangini Drum Solo
11. “A Fortune in Lies”
12. “The Silent Man”
13. “Beneath the Surface”
14. “Wait for Sleep”
15. “Far From Heaven”
16. “Outcry”
17. Jordan Rudess Keyboard Solo
18. “Surrounded”
19. “On the Backs of Angels”
20. “War Inside My Head”
21. “The Test That Stumped Them All”
22. John Petrucci Guitar Solo
23. “The Spirit Carries On”
24. “Breaking All Illusions”
25. “Metropolis, Pt. 1: The Miracle and the Sleeper”
26. “Pull Me Under”

Similar Posts:

Kyle Smitchens

Kyle Smitchens is the Guitar-Muse Managing Editor, super hero extraordinaire, and all around great guy. He has been playing guitar since his late teens and writing personal biographies almost as long. An appreciator of all music, his biggest influences include Tchaikovsky, Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Steve Vai, Therion, and Jon Levasseur of Cryptopsy.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x