Rory Gallagher’s Lost Album to be Released May 17th

Rory Gallagher

Read Time 1 Minutes

Rory Gallagher
Rory Gallagher

Many of you have heard this news already, but it’s almost here! Two more days!

It’s always a stunning and sad time when a music great leaves this earth.

First we’re stunned, then we bask in their music, as much as we can handle for a few days, but soon the realization sets in that we won’t be hearing anything new from this artist ever again – and the sense of loss doubles.

With Rory Gallagher, we’ve been lucky enough to get a few good albums since his death, and there’s another on the way.

Back in 2003, we got “Wheels Within Wheels”, and now we’re going to get the chance to hear another.

Back in 1977, after touring for six months, Rory Gallagher and his band headed straight to San Fransisco where they began work on a new album. The process of mixing and producing the album frustrated Rory, who viewed it as too complex.

He eventually shelved the project, and broke up the band.

He did comment years later that he hoped that someday that album would be released, but only if it was remixed.

In 2011, Rory’s brother, Donal, did just that.

It’s scheduled for a May 17th release, so make sure you check it out!

The first CD will be the complete studio album, and the second will be a live album recorded at the Old Waldorf in San Fransisco, back in December 1979.

Track Listing:

CD 1
1. Rue The Day
2. Persuasion
3. B Girl
4. Mississippi Sheiks
5. Wheels Within Wheels
6. Overnight Bag
7. Cruise On Out
8. Brute Force & Ignorance
9. Fuel To The Fire

Bonus Tracks:
10. Wheels Within Wheels (Alt version)
11. Cut A Dash
12. Out On The Tiles

CD 2
1. Follow Me
2. Shinkicker
3. Off The Handle
4. Bought And Sold
5. I’m Leavin’
6. Tattoo’d Lady
7. Do You Read Me
8. Country Mile
9. Calling Card
10. Shadow Play
11. Bullfrog Blues
12. Sea Cruise


Similar Posts:

Guitar-Muse Staff

Articles credited to "Guitar-Muse Staff" are a team effort. We love working together and we hope you enjoy these articles!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x